Gingerbread (Gluten free)

DSCF9288

 

It’s been a while since I wrote a new recipe, which is ridiculous because I actually made these about a month ago. This gingerbread is adapted from this recipe. I have toned it down because I find it over sweet and have left out the glaze. I have made a third of the quantity, because it does otherwise make a huge cake! Lastly I have swapped plain flour with some gluten free alternatives, using the same combination I used in these muffins which are quite similar.

 

A few points to consider:

 

The mixture is very liquid at the end and you do pour it into the muffin cases. It in no way resembles a normal cake mixture and you will worry that you went wrong (at least I did). Do not fret! It will work; this is how it is supposed to be.

 

Do heat the milk through as I have suggested in the instructions. I didn’t and the warmed treacle mixture went solid when I poured the milk on top of it and trying to whisk it smooth was a bit tricky.

 

Makes 9 mini muffins

 

75g unsalted butter
60ml treacle
60g muscovado sugar
60g ground almonds

60g buckwheat flour
½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
2/3  tsp ground ginger
1/3 tsp ground black pepper
1/3 tsp ground cinnamon

A pinch of ground allspice
A pinch of ground cloves
1 large egg
40ml milk
1small tbsp freshly grated ginger

 

Turn the oven on to 160°C.

 

Put the butter, treacle, sugar and 40ml of water in a medium sized saucepan.

 

Heat over a low heat until the sugar is dissolved and the butter melted. Pour into a mixing bowl and allow the mixture to cool. In the same bowl slightly warm the milk.

DSCF9278

Mix the flour, bicarbonate of soda and spices in a separate bowl and put into one side. When the treacle mix is lukewarm then add the egg to it and whisk it, then add the milk and whisk until smooth.

 

Once smooth add the dry ingredients and the grated ginger.

DSCF9282

Pour into the muffin cases and bake for approximately 15minutes. The muffins should spring back when touched and if you insert a toothpick or skewer it should come out with a few moist crumbs.

 

Leave a comment